COTTAGE PIE

The Pea & The Spoon

Payday cannot come quick enough. I spent all my pennies on my holiday so clinging on to the end of the month has been hard.

So much so, this week I needed a cheap yet comforting meal to serve for my lunch and dinners. Cottage pie is such a warm hug for these cold winter days and easy on the purse strings too.

I have tried a few versions of cottage pie but this is my favourite. I like the combination sweet potato, parsnip and butternut squash as an alternative to the potato topping.

Rich in beef stock the mince is the perfect combination. Yum!

I had flu last week and not much better this week so comfort food is the perfect remedy. I like to serve this with peas or runner beans. Quite traditional really!

Ingredients:

  • 500gms lean mince beef (5% fat)
  • 500ml strong beef stock
  • 2 x onions

View original post 230 more words

Leave a Reply

